Home/News | About | Download | Documentation | Forum | Bug Reports | Contact | Donations | Consulting | Projects | Legal | Security | FATE


This forum has not been maintained for a long time and will probably get deleted in the near future.
For faster responses to your questions, please use StackOverflow instead and tag your questions with "FFmpeg".
If you need a backup of the posts from this forum, please contact me directly.

Use FFPLAY to show audio level on channls.

Discussions about problems encountered using ffplay.
Forum rules
FFmpeg is in a state of perpetual development and we do not currently have the person power to backport fixes to official releases. As such, if you wish to query or report a bug, you must try with the latest development branch revision of FFmpeg to confirm the issue still exists. The latest FFmpeg can be downloaded from here: http://www.ffmpeg.org/download.html

Use FFPLAY to show audio level on channls.

Postby snedspark » Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:42 pm

Hi,

I have a aac-stereo file, which I want to visualize the audio-level on left and right channel.

I figured maybe i could use the showvolume-filter:
ffmpeg-filters.html#showvolume

I'm a little new to this, so I can't figure out how to use the commandline to load that filter.

If I only do:
ffplay -i out_5001.track_111.aac

I get some kind of audio-visualizer, but it's not the one I want ;)

Can anyone help a beginner?
snedspark
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:32 pm

Re: Use FFPLAY to show audio level on channls.

Postby llogan » Tue Feb 16, 2016 5:17 pm

Code: Select all
ffplay -f lavfi "amovie=input.aac, asplit [a][out1]; [a] showvolume=f=1:b=4:w=720:h=68 [out0]"

See showvolume documentation for more info.
Get an answer more quickly by providing your actual ffmpeg command and the complete console output. Use the code button to format your command and output or your question will be ignored.
llogan
 
Posts: 2360
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:47 pm
Location: Alaska

Re: Use FFPLAY to show audio level on channls.

Postby richardpl » Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:36 pm

The f parameter is float in 0-1 range in latest ffmpeg version.
richardpl
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:37 pm

Re: Use FFPLAY to show audio level on channls.

Postby llogan » Wed Feb 17, 2016 2:07 am

Thanks. Fixed example.
Get an answer more quickly by providing your actual ffmpeg command and the complete console output. Use the code button to format your command and output or your question will be ignored.
llogan
 
Posts: 2360
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:47 pm
Location: Alaska


Return to ffplay

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest